The Edinburgh Seven

The Edinburgh Seven – Sophia Jex-Blake, Isabel Thorne, Edith Pechey, Matilda Chaplin, Helen Evans, Mary Anderson, and Emily Bovell – studied medicine at Edinburgh University during 1800s and became the first women to complete their undergraduate studies at any British university. However, male students intervened to prevent the women from actually graduating. The Edinburgh Seven mounted a political campaign to grant women rights to a university education. Their plight led to legislation being passed in at 1877 that secured women’s future education.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: